HKBU receives HK$1m from Hong Kong Economic Journal
in support of the Asia's first Pulitzer Prize Winners Workshop

Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) received a HK$1 million donation from the Hong Kong Economic Journal Co., Ltd. (HKEJ) in support of the University's "Pulitzer Prize Winners Workshop", an initiative to enhance the quality of journalistic education and train highly professional journalists with global vision.

The donation was presented to the University at a ceremony today (13 June) by Mr. Cho Chi- ming, Executive Director, Hong Kong Economic Journal Co., Ltd. Receiving the cheque on behalf of the University were Mr. Cheng Yan-kee, Deputy Chairman of the HKBU Council and of the Court, Professor Ng Ching-fai, President and Vice-Chancellor, and Professor Huang Yu, Head of Department of Journalism.

Mr. Cho Chi-ming (left) presents a $1 million cheque to Mr. Cheng Yan-kee (second from left), Deputy Chairman of the HKBU Council and of the Court, Professor Ng Ching-fai (second from right), President and Vice-Chancellor, and Professor Huang Yu, Head of Department of Journalism

President Ng Ching-fai thanked HKEJ for its generous support to the University and paid tribute to HKEJ as one of the most credible and authoritative newspapers in Hong Kong. He said: "Hong Kong is a cosmopolitan city best known for its speech and press freedom. To advance professional knowledge and the standard of practice among local journalists, as well as to broaden the vision of journalistic education in Hong Kong and the Greater China region, HKBU initiates this pioneering Workshop.

"We are very pleased to have HKEJ's support, which is not only a financial boon to us, but also a welcome approbation by a highly-regarded, high-profile newspaper of the University's mission and contribution to local journalistic education and culture. We are grateful for the HKEJ's recognition and support for this meaningful project, the first of its kind in journalistic education in Asia," added President Ng.

Mr. Cho Chi-ming said over the years HKEJ was committed to delivering unbiased and impartial news reporting; this goal exactly reflects the HKBU School of Communication's motto: "Truth is Virtue". He said: "For the past 50 years, HKBU has been dedicated to promoting the development of communication education. With this donation, we support the University in nurturing future outstanding journalists who will bring detailed news and information to the public based on the journalistic principles of objectivity, fairness, truthfulness and accuracy."

Each year, the Workshop will invite four to six Pulitzer Prize winners in journalism to HKBU for a two-week academic exchange on campus. Through a series of lectures and seminars, local and regional students, media professionals and the public can learn from the invaluable experiences and insights of these Pulitzer Prize winners.

A total of six renowned winners will participate in the Workshop commencing mid-October 2007; they are Mr. Peter Arnett (1966 winner; reporter for the Associated Press), Professor John Kaplan (1992 winner; Research Foundation Professor, University of Florida), Mr. Michael Vitez (1997 winner; staff writer for The Philadelphia Inquirer), Ms. Amy Goldstein (2002 winner; staff writer for The Washington Post), Ms. Mei Fong (2007 winner; correspondent for The Wall Street Journal Asia) and Mr. Steve Stecklow (2007 winner; senior special writer and news editor for The Wall Street Journal). For photos of the winners, please download at:
For details on the Workshop, please visit

Professor Huang Yu said: "This Workshop aims to raise both the standard and code of journalistic practice in Hong Kong. Bearing the credo 'excellence in journalism and contribution to society', the Workshop can further strengthen communication education among students and the public. In addition, we have gained support from international advisory group, media professionals and scholars, such as Professor Clement So (Ĭ_б), Professor Zhan Jiang (iб), Mr. Peter Kwan (), Mr. Zhang Guoliang (i}), Ms. Serenade Woo (JRkh), and Mr. C. K. Lau (Bv ) in planning the Workshop."

Named after Joseph Pulitzer and first awarded in 1917, the Pulitzer Prize is regarded as the most prestigious and most sought-after accolade in American journalism. It aims to commend journalists of the highest standard and covers major areas of journalism, such as public service, investigative reporting, national reporting, international reporting, feature writing, editorial writing and photojournalism.

Media enquiries: Jasmine Lau of the Communication and Public Relations Office (3411 7828 or 7472 2122).